Travelling Man's Blog


A VERY SPECIAL MANGA DAY AT TRAVELLING MAN NEWCASTLE SAT 13TH FEB 2010 by Travelling Man

Don’t miss this very special day of manga fun! Just pop to Travelling Man Newcastle on Saturday 13th Feb at 12pm to take part in cosplay and art competitions, watch animes and learn how to draw manga with the amazing Yishan Li.

To sign up for Yishan’s workshop, please leave your name in the comment box below or just pop in to your local Travelling Man to sign up!

Don’t forget to dig out your cosplay costumes for thre chance to win some cool prizes!

87 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Question about the Manga Art competition, does it have to be your own creative work or can it be Manga art that already exsists like Death Note or NARUTO?

Comment by Ben Leslie

Hi Ben, you can bring your own manga art which can be anything or use the art you have produced from the manga workshop :)See you then!

Comment by travellingman

Whooo!!! I live Newcastle so Im coming along to this ^^

Comment by Mandy

this sounds great
how do i sign up? im not sure when i can get to newcastle next

Comment by jack

Hi Jack, thanks for the interest! We can sign up up here. See you on the 13th! :)

Comment by travellingman

I’d love to come. Though does it cost anything?

Comment by Samantha

Hi Samantha, it’s completely free!!!! Yay, hope to see you there!

Comment by travellingman

Hii! Wear cosplay? Like, any? Hahaha cool! Im not skilled at drawing manga at all…But i do like to create fan-made manga!
Where do I sign up?!

Comment by Becky

Hi Becky! I’ll sign up up now, can’t wait to see your costume! x

Comment by Lisa

I really want to go! im trying to get me sister to take me, but we live in liverpool… she said she might try to take me :)

Comment by Chloe

Aawww you should try and come! It’s gonna be ace! x

Comment by travellingman

Hiya sign me up please…. Is it any cosplay…. i’d love to come as sesshomaru… Thanks

Comment by Rachael(Sesshomaru)

Yep come as anything you like! Can’t wait to see you costume! x

Comment by travellingman

Hello… Is it any cosplay??? And Sign me up…If this comment is doubled then… Sorry My mistake…Sure i’d love to bring my drawings to be judged…
Thanks

Comment by Rachael(Sesshomaru)

Would I need to sign up, if I’m bringing my own art?

Comment by Ben Leslie

Hi Ben, you only need to sign up if you want to take part in Yishan’s workshop, if you want to just pop by for the cosplay or art competition, just turn up! Looking forward to seeing your art! x

Comment by travellingman

cool i will bet there

Comment by amy wilson

i will be there yay!!

Comment by heidi land

Woop, this sounds great count me in =] i always wanted to learn to draw Manga. But one question is there a age rating? i am nearly 16, but if you need to be like 18+ just message me please.

Thanks Karl!

Comment by Karl Hudson

Hi Karl, all ages are welcome! It should be a great day! See you all then :D

Comment by travellingman

Hi, sorry to be a burden again but, can you sign me up for the workshop if you havent already ;) Thanks Karl!

Comment by Karl Hudson

hey me again, with the art competition are 3D art pieces still okay

Comment by jack

Yeah! Sounds ace! Will we need the specs? x

Comment by Lisa

kool see ya there

Comment by karl timms

I’ll be there ^^

Comment by Samantha

Hey there! ^-^ Just wondering – could I please sign up for the art workshop? My name is Elly-Kate and I’m planning a Tifa cosplay for the day (might not be in Tifa costume after all depending on the weather, but just so you know ^-^’) Anyhow, I look forward to the day greatly! Thanks for organizing another great day!

Comment by Elly/Tifa-Chan

Of course! I’ll pop your name down, hope you can make it in cosplay Elly ^_^ x

Comment by travellingman

Hey, would it be opssible to be signed up for the workshop please? Thanks!

Comment by Rachael

Of course, see you then! ^_^

Comment by travellingman

i live in newcastle but how do i sign up??

Comment by jessica

Hi Jessica, I will sign you up here. See you on the 13th! ^_^

Comment by travellingman

Can I sign up?

Comment by Chloe

Hi Chloe, yep I’ve signed you up, see you then! ^_^

Comment by travellingman

i wanna go learn how to make my manga better

Comment by Neko

I’ll pop your name down Neko! ^_^ x

Comment by travellingman

Can I ask peoples, Vampire knight night class cosplay /Bleach cosplay?! Which one!?!! x

Comment by Becky

Vampire Knight! :D x

Comment by Lisa

Hi its me again, if you havent already can you sign me up for the workshop =]

Thanks Karl.

P.s, If i’ve already sent a message like this i am sorry for spamming lol =/ but i dont think it updated the message onto the website so only making sure lol.

Comment by Karl Hudson

Hey Karl, you’re not a burden! I’ll sign you up! :)

Comment by travellingman

where do i sign up for the workshop?? as i want to learn how to draw better manga.

Comment by stephen watson

I’ll sign you up here! See you then ^_^

Comment by travellingman

I’ll be there, could I try the drawing competition? How many pictures could I enter in?
And I will be cosplaying as either Hinamori amu or Mashiro Rima from Shugo chara ^^ see you peoples there…!

Comment by Amy

I’ll be there, could I try the drawing competition? How many pictures could I enter in?
And I will be cosplaying as either Hinamori amu or Mashiro Rima from Shugo chara ^^ see you peoples there…!

Comment by Amy Wilson

Of course! Just bring your art along, you can enter one or two pieces, not too many tho just in case we get loads! :D

Comment by travellingman

am so coming gonna cosplay yay

Comment by becca

I nearly forgot, could you sign me up for drawing and cosplay competitions please :) thanks x

Comment by Amy Wilson

Will do Amy! ^_^

Comment by travellingman

Hi there, my daughter loves manga and would like to come along on saturday. As she is only 9 will it be ok for her to come along? I’ll be there with her but I’m no good at drawing so I’ll have to sit in a corner!

Comment by Joanne

Hi Joanne, it would be lovely to have your daughter there! If you could stay with her to make sure she is ok that would be great. I’ll pop your name down +1
Thanks Lisa :)

Comment by travellingman

Thats great thanks Lisa we’ll see you on saturday!

Comment by Joanne

I love how Amy is my twin sister and yet I had no idea she was planning on wearing my cosplay outfit… Meh, Sign me up please.. and well my mam is weirdly interested so sign her up too! Under the name ethel! :P I will bring in my art work too :P

Thanks! x

Comment by Becky

Will do, see you then :D

Comment by travellingman

And if you dont mind, Can I just be there for 1pm?

Comment by Becky

heey would just like to put me and my friend Kelsey down for the manga workshop,, thanks :)

Comment by Charlotte

Will do! :D

Comment by travellingman

im new to the whole manga scene but want to get involved and signe up for the workshop is there a deadline and how do i singh up??

Comment by daniel greco

im new to the whole manga scene is there a deadline to sine up for the workshop and how do i sighn up?

Comment by daniel greco

Hi Daniel, hey no worries, we’ll look after you. I’ve popped your name down for the manga workshop the deadline is today :)

Comment by travellingman

thnks i will see you tomorrow :)

Comment by daniel greco

WAAAAAH please tell me that you have sign me up??? for the work shop I mean… Thanks (its becky’s twin by the way :D)

Comment by Amy Wilson

Please sign me up if Im not signed up yet. Thank you :)

Comment by Amy Wilson

Hehehe yep we’ve signed you up Becky ^_^ x

Comment by Lisa

are you doing cosplay photos whenever people arrive or all together at a certain time?

also do you have naruto 47 in the newcastle store? if you do could I reserve a copy?)

Comment by Matthew Breeze

Hi Matthew, we do have Naruto 47 and we have saved you a copy for Saturday.
In terms of pictures, we will probably take some group pictures at the end and some of the winners. Depending on how many people there are we would like pictures of everyone but it may be too hard.
Thanks Lisa :)

Comment by Lisa

hi thanks for reserving the book for me but I didn’t check the comments between posting the comment and the event, I managed to get it from the store though. thanks again

Comment by matthew breeze (bankai ichigo)

Hi Mike, you can put the reserved naruto book back on sale as the guy bought it from the shelf. See below. Thanks Lisa :)

Comment by blacklodgegallery

hi whats the actually is the workshop? And can I put my name down along with my friends because they’re coming aswell or will they have to do it themselves?

Comment by Ben Seddon

How can i sign up???

Comment by caitlin

Hi Ben and Caitlin, sorry it was a bit too late to put your names down but did you come anyway? :)

Comment by travellingman

just in case you havnt already can i put my name down please and my friend Gary Surtees in case he forgets

Comment by Ben Seddon

cool i will be there 2 marra 4 that work shop with my m8 heidi!! byeee

Comment by alison coffey

Hey My Name Is Gary Surtees can u sign me up please!? thanks!!! :)

Comment by Gary Surtees

Hey My name Is Gary Surtees! Can You Sign Me Up Please!? :)

Comment by Gary Surtees

Hi Gary, sorry it was a bit too late to sign you up but did you turn up anyway? :)

Comment by travellingman

ooos :D will be there sounds fun uhoh bit l8 better start gettin ready haha ^‿^

Comment by t8o

Hiya xxx when will photo’s be posted…for some reason my mam would like to see Thanks

Comment by Rachael(Sesshomaru)

Hiya when will the photo’s be put up?
Thanks

Comment by Rachael(Sesshomaru)

Soon, hopefully this week! x

Comment by travellingman

Sorry for the double posting…makes me look like i am impatient… sorry….

Comment by Rachael(Sesshomaru)

Hey don’t worry Rachael, I’m hoping to put the pics up this week. I should of done it last week but things have been a bit hectic here! ^_^

Comment by Lisa

Oh my god -_- I cant believe amy won 2nd place wearing MY cosplay xD

Comment by Becky

was that the vampire knight costume…it was really good if it was yours xxx xd

Comment by Rachael(Sesshomaru)

Hi this was great, lots of brilliant cosplayers, really looking forward to the next one. although I didn’t talk much at the event I would like to get to know more cosplayers, (no matter how many times I read that back it still sounds weird.) heres my facebook http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/profile.php?id=524238116
(I apologise if this isn’t allowed.) if you add me, please say your adding me from here or I’m likely to ignore it. thanks again.

Comment by Matthew Breeze (Bankai Ichigo)

Hey no worries Matthew!
In fact, our new website will be lauched soon but until then we have started a Flickr pool for cosplay pics, so if you have any you want to add just go here

http://www.flickr.com/groups/1316435@N24/

Glad you had fun!! ^_^

Comment by travellingman

Hiya… will the photos be posted soon… its been nearly three weeks since the cosplay…. Thanks

Sorry if i sound…demanding

Comment by Dancer

hey, so are there gonna be any asians? well you see im asian and at these events there ARE no asians whatsoever

Comment by hello

Hey Sabrah! We hope so we welcome eveyone! But if it is just you, you shouldn’t worry and be proud to just bring your beautiful self ^_^ x

Comment by travellingman




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

